The 30th Annual ACLI Capital Challenge

2011 Award Winners

Place & Category Name Team Time
Individual Winners
1st Male - Overall Brandon Cherry Runnin' Out of Our FERC'n Minds (FERC) 15:20
1st Female - Overall Cdr Suzanne Himes Team Navy 18:52
1st Senator - Male Sen John Thune Mount Runmore 18:54
1st Senator - Female Sen Kelly Ayotte It's Not a Boat, it's "Ayotte" 26:40
1st Rep. - Male Rep Aaron Schock Thirty is the New Twenty 20:12
(Mike Synar Award)      
1st Rep. - Female Rep Jean Schmidt Fast As Schmidt 24:49
1st Agency Head - Male no entrants    
1st Agency Head - Female Deanna Okun Smoot Hawlin' (US International Trade Commission) 23:05
1st Sub-Cabinet - Male Jim Sanford Deal Makers (Office of US Trade Representative) 19:18
1st Sub-Cabinet - Female Heather Peeler United We Serve #2 (Corp for Nat'l & Community Service) 23:54
1st Fed.Judge - Male Judge Brett Kavanaugh D. C. Circuitry (DC Court of Appeals for the DC Circuit) 21:32
1st Fed Judge- Female Judge Juliet McKenna Rocket Dockets (DC Superior Court) 28:00
1st Print Journalist-Male Blake Whitney CQ RC News Travels Fast (CQ/Roll Call) 17:06
1st Print Journalist-Female Kelly Field Chronic Deficit (Chronicle of Higher Education) 19:10
1st Electronic Journ.-Male Jon Hamilton Wait, Wait Don't Pass Me (NPR) 19:51
1st ElectronicJourn.-Female Rachel Martin Fly Like a Siegel (NPR) 23:58
1st Wheelchair Chris Nowak Department of Veterans Affairs 13:43
2nd Wheelchair Tammy Duckworth Department of Veterans Affairs 16:26
AGE Groups
1st Capt. 60+ Male Jim Abrams Wired Up, Ready to Go II (AP) 22:08
2nd Capt 60+ Male Art Silverman The Speed of Sound (NPR) 26:57
3rd Capt 60+ Male Rep Earl Blumenauer Blumenauer 28:11
4th Capt 60 + Male Rep Josť Serrano Serrano Peppers 29:42
1st Capt 70+ Male Bill Plante C-No B.S. (CBS News) 30:24
2nd Capt 70+ Male Sen Charles Grassley Grassley 5:15 31:40
3rd Capt 70+ Male Sen Richard Lugar Team Lugar 44:40
1st Capt 60+ Female Secretary Kathleen Sebelius The Fast & the Sebelius (HHS) 26:20
2nd Capt 60 + Female Courtenay Mullen KipJoggers (Kiplinger) 28:17
3rd Capt 60 + Female Sen Kay Bailey Hutchison Kay Through Twelve 43:05
4th Capt 60 + Female Barbara Marcus KipWalkers (Kiplinger) 45:25
Winning Teams      
Richard G.Lugar Fastest Overall Team Award Team Navy (US Navy)    
1st Senate Team Mount Runmore (Sen John Thune)    
2nd Senate Team Team Lugar (Sen Richard Lugar)    
1st House Team Blumenauer (Rep Earl Blumenauer)    
2nd House Team Serrano Peppers (Rep Josť Serrano)    
1st Executive Branch Team Team Navy (US Navy)    
2nd Executive Branch Team Runnin' Out of Our FERC'n Minds (FERC)    
1st Print Media Team CQ RC News Travels Fast (CQ/Roll Call)    
2nd Print Media Team Chronic Deficit (Chronicle of Higher Education)    
1st Electronic Media Team Fair & New Balanced (Fox News)    
2nd Electronic Media Team Wait, Wait Don't Pass Me (NPR)    
1st Judicial Team D. C. Circuity (DC Court of Appeals for DC Circuit)    
2nd Judicial Team Team Goeke (US Tax Court)    
Team Name Winners      
Best Named Team Wait, Wait Don't Pass Me (NPR)    
2nd Best Name Bair Feet (Sheila Bair, Chair: FDIC)    
3rd Best Name The Horsepower Under LaHood (DOT)    
Worst Named Team      
(James B. Kenin Award-1st) It's Not A Boat, It's Ayotte (Sen Kelly Ayotte)    
2nd Worst Name Running Out of Our FERC'n Minds (Fed Engery Regulator Comm)    
3rd Worst Name Mount Runmore (Sen John Thune)    
Best Spirit Washington Post Express